Vol 13 October 2010

Mac Everett
General Chairman

Kym Hougham
Executive Director

Jan Ivey
Director of Marketing and Sponsor Relations

Tony Schuster
Director of Operations

Gwen Crow
Tournament Coordinator

Paula Burnett
Volunteer Coordinator

Christine Lockett
Tournament Project Manager

James Stevens
Tournament Assistant

Hole Highlight: No. 18

The par-four 18th hole became an instant classic when the inaugural 2003 Wells Fargo Championship was conducted. Recording a par on this long 478-yard hole has become one of the main goals for each TOUR player each year. Who can forget how 2003 champion David Toms finished here on his way to victory?

As he approached the 18th tee of the final round, Toms held a six-stroke lead over several players, including Vijay Singh, Robert Gamez and Brent Geiberger. However, an errant tee shot which traveled 50 to 60 yards offline into the trees on the right-side of the hole started a loss of concentration. Seven shots later the ball finally dropped in the hole and Toms threw up his arms in relief with a two-stroke victory.

David Toms, 2003 Champion

Move ahead to the 2006 championship and the hole played a key role in the victory of Jim Furyk.

Furyk entered the final round at Quail Hollow Club with a one-shot lead. However, South African Trevor Immelman shot a 33 on the outward nine and by the 13th hole he held a two-stroke lead over Furyk and Retief Goosen.

Jim Furyk and Trevor Immelman

Furyk, however, began to make his move. A birdie at the par-4 14th came after his eight-iron approach left him with a four-foot putt. He was within one stroke. Both he and Immelman then birdied the 15th and 30 minutes later they stood on the 18th teeing ground.

18th Green at Quail Hollow

Furyk, trailing by one on the 72nd hole, watched Immelman three-putt from 50 feet. After a long, hard look, Furyk then rolled in an 8 footer to force the playoff.

On the first hole of extra play, both players returned to the 18th tee. This time Furyk’s approach shot actually hit the flagstick and left him with a five-foot putt to secure his first victory of the 2006 season and the 11th of his career.

Jim Furyk, 2006 Champion