Vol 16 July 2011

Mac Everett
General Chairman

Kym Hougham
Executive Director

Jan Ivey
Director of Marketing and Sponsor Relations

Tony Schuster
Director of Operations

Gwen Crow
Tournament Coordinator

Paula Burnett
Volunteer Coordinator

Christine Lockett
Tournament Project Manager

James Stevens
Tournament Assistant

Grass Clippings

  • Three of the nine champions of the Wells Fargo Championship finished second in the tournament before winning. Vijay Singh had a runner-up finish in 2003 and won in 2005. Jim Furyk lost in a playoff to Singh in 2005 and then won in 2006. Lucas Glover, the 2011 champion, was tied for second in 2009.

2006 Champion Jim Furyk
  • Currently, the nine champions of the Wells Fargo Championship have won a total of 153 PGA TOUR titles combined.
  • While 2011 champion Lucas Glover had to come from four strokes behind on the final day to win the tournament this year, the best come-from-behind in tournament history was six strokes when Vijay Singh did it in 2005.

2011 Champion Lucas Glover
  • This year a whopping 84 players made the 36-hole cut at Quail Hollow Club. That is the largest number of competitors to make a 36-hole cut on the PGA TOUR this year. However, it is not the largest in tournament history. In 2007, 85 players played on Saturday.
  • In 2003 the inaugural Wells Fargo Championship began with two of the game’s greatest players tied for the lead after the first round. Nick Price and Fred Couples shot matching rounds of 6-under-par 66. That same year Price was inducted into the World Golf Hall of Fame and in a few months Couples will captain his second U.S. team in the Presidents Cup. Today both spend most of their time on the Champions TOUR.

Champions TOUR Player, Nick Price