Vol 16 July 2011

Mac Everett
General Chairman

Kym Hougham
Executive Director

Jan Ivey
Director of Marketing and Sponsor Relations

Tony Schuster
Director of Operations

Gwen Crow
Tournament Coordinator

Paula Burnett
Volunteer Coordinator

Christine Lockett
Tournament Project Manager

James Stevens
Tournament Assistant

10-Year Timeline
History at a Glance

May 6, 2002 - PGA TOUR announces Wachovia Championship will be new event on the schedule and will be held May 5-11, 2003 at Quail Hollow Club.


May 11, 2003 - David Toms, despite a quadruple-bogey 8 on the final hole, shoots a 73, finishes 10-under-par and wins the inaugural Championship by two strokes.

October 27, 2003 - Wachovia Championship announces $1 million donation to Teach For America, the tournament’s primary charity.


May 9, 2004 - Veteran Joey Sindelar takes home a trophy after 14 years and 370 events when he defeats Arron Oberholser on the second hole of the tournament’s first playoff.


April 25, 2005 - Tournament officials announce the event is sold out for the third consecutive year with an estimated 200,000 patrons expected to be at the golf course throughout the week.

May 8 2005 - Vijay Singh defeats Jim Furyk and Sergio Garcia in a playoff.

February 16, 2005 - Tournament and PGA TOUR announce contract extension through 2010.


May 7, 2006 - Jim Furyk defeats future Masters Champion, Trevor Immelman, in the tournament’s third consecutive playoff.


April 30, 2007 - Tiger Woods and Michael Jordan play together for the first time in public as teammates in the Wednesday Pro-Am in front of 35,000 people.

May 6, 2007 - A 60-foot putt for eagle on the seventh hole propels Tiger Woods to a two stroke victory over Steve Stricker.


May 2, 2008 - Tournament and PGA TOUR announce another contract extension that brings the event to Charlotte through 2014.

May 4, 2008 - In front of the tournament’s sixth straight sellout crowd, Anthony Kim maintains a five-stroke lead with a final round 69 and earns his first PGA TOUR title.


February 27, 2009 - Tournament is re-named Quail Hollow Championship

May 3, 2009 - Sean O’Hair shoots a final round 69 and edges Lucas Glover and Bubba Watson by one shot for the title.

November 18, 2009 - PGA TOUR announces that the tournament is named “Best in Class” among all TOUR events.


August 3, 2010 - Tournament is re-named Wells Fargo Championship.

May 2, 2010 - Northern Ireland’s Rory McIlroy earns his first PGA TOUR title and becomes the tournament’s youngest winner with a four-shot victory over Phil Mickelson.

November 9, 2010 - Tournament announces charitable donations since 2003 have grown to over $12 million.

December 9, 2010 - Tournament earns a second consecutive “Best in Class” Award from the PGA TOUR.


May 8, 2011 - U.S. Open champion Lucas Glover defeats former Clemson teammate Jonathan Byrd in a playoff. It is the first time two college teammates compete in a playoff for a title on the PGA TOUR.