Vol 24 October 2014

Mac Everett
General Chairman

Kym Hougham
Executive Director

Jan Ivey
Director of Marketing and Partner Relations

Tony Schuster
Director of Operations

Gwen Crow
Tournament Coordinator

Paula Burnett
Volunteer Coordinator

Christine Lockett
Tournament Project Manager

James Stevens
Tournament Assistant

Fall 2013 Grass Clippings
  • Only eight players had bogey-free rounds during the 2013 Wells Fargo Championship—R1, Nick Watney, Ryan Moore, Webb Simpson, Bobby Gates; R2, Scott Gardiner, D.A. Points, Bill Haas; R3, None; R4, Luke List.

    Nick Watney
  • Lee Westwood, former No.1 in the world, has now recorded back-to-back top-10 finishes at Quail Hollow Club in five starts. He was tied for fifth in 2012 and tied for fourth in 2013.

    Lee Westwood
  • Ryan Moore, who has now held a share of the first-round lead the last two years, became only the fourth player to hit all 18 greens in regulation in round one when he did it at this year’s tournament. He joins Hunter Mahan and Heath Slocum in 2012 and Chris Smith in 2003.

    Ryan Moore
  • The 72-hole score of 8-under-par posted by Derek Ernst and David Lynn is the highest 72-hole score in tournament history. The previous high was 10-under by 2003 champion David Toms.

    Derek Ernst
  • Hole No.17 has not been kind to Phil Mickelson. He has played the par-three 40 times and is 14-over par on the hole. He has only birdied the hole three times—in round four of 2007, round two of 2010 and round four of 2012. This year, he was par, par, par, bogey.

    Phil Mickelson